Team Time Trial 2nd, 9 Top-10 Finishes for Cards in opening Collegiate Race Weekend

Columbia, Ky.— Amid a weekend full of crashes and heartbreak for the Lindsey Wilson College cycling team, UofL’s Mens’ D Team Time Trial team earns second place, while several riders go on to contest top ten finishes in the inaugural Mid-West Collegiate Cycling Conference race weekend hosted by Lindsey Wilson College on March 21st and 22nd.

The Men’s D team set the pace for 2015 by earning second place in the first Team Time Trial event of the season. Evan Cruson, Rikus Van Zyl, Erik Seibt, and Josh Goodman crossed the line with a time of 14:27 on the hilly 12km course. They were edged out by the four-man team from the University of Chicago by 5 seconds.

The D men continued riding strongly, placing three riders in the top 10 in the Criterium. Rikus Van Zyl sprinted to 5th, barely riding past his lead-out man Evan Cruson who came in 6th. Josh Goodman crossed the finish line in tenth place ahead of teammate Erik Seibt in 12th place. Jordan Morris, riding in his first ever race rolled in at 44th. The team controlled the 50-man field effectively, but in the end a small breakaway swept the podium. The following day, Van Zyl missed the podium in the road race, finishing in 4th place after chasing a breakaway for most of the day. When the peloton rolled into the final meters, the D team surged ahead with Erik Seibt for 6th, Evan Kuhl for 10th, Jacob Holtgrewe for 12th, and Josh Goodman at 17th in the 50-man field.

In the Men’s B Criterium, Ben King rode into a 4th place finish, barely missing out on the podium during a bunch sprint. Jason Eisenmenger worked tirelessly for King and rode into a 21st place in the 33-man field. King later missed the podium again in the road race, finishing in 4th, while Eisenmenger improved his results with a 13th place finish in the 35-man field.

Despite riding without any teammates in the Men’s A criterium, John Francisco raced smartly into a 25th place finish out of 67. The next day he rode aggressively during the road race, making the 25-man selection into the final downhill sprint. The race officials limited it to a single lane, and Francisco was boxed out of the final push. He rode into a 12th place finish in the 69-man Men’s A road race.

Fourth year medical student Evan Kuhl was all smiles after the event was over, “This weekend showed how far we’ve come from last year.”

Despite the great results the SCC had, however, the overall weekend was marred when a crash in the Women’s A road race took out several riders. Many suffered minor injuries and several had broken bones but Hannah Hayduk, a senior student athlete from Lindsey Wilson sustained potentially life-threatening injuries. The future medical student was airlifted to UofL Hospital with severe head trauma and several other serious injuries. The UofL Student Cycling Coalition has reached out to Lindsey Wilson College athletes and family and will be providing host housing to Hannah’s visitors when she is moved out of the Intensive Care Unit. Lindsey Wilson cycling coach, Charles Mooney, posted on the team’s Facebook page, “She is in critical, but stable condition. They are monitoring her constantly and she is surrounded by great doctors.” To send a letter supporting Hayduk’s recovery, the address is listed below.

attn.: ‪#‎pray4hannah 210 Lindsey Wilson St. Columbia Ky. 42728

The SCC is currently ranked 7th in Div. 1, 9th overall in the MWCCC. The team is in full preparation for the next collegiate race weekend hosted by the University Michigan and Michigan State University on March 28th and 29th.

Evan Cruson leads the Men's D Criterium.
Evan Cruson leads the Men’s D Criterium.
What place did you get in the Road Race and Criterium, Ben?
Jason Eisenmenger in the Criterium
Men’s D field in the Criterium lines up at the line. 

UofL SCC Full Results from Lindsey Wilson College

Team Time Trial

Men D 2nd of 8


John Francisco 25th Men’s A of 67

Ben King 4th Men’s B

Jason Eisenmenger 21st Men’s B of 33

Rikus Van Zyl 5th Men’s D

Evan Cruson 6th Men’s D

Josh Goodman 10th Men’s D

Erik Seibt 12th   Men’s D

Jordan Morris 44th Men’s D of 51

Road Race

John Francisco Men A 12th of 69

Ben King 4th Men B

Jason Eisenmenger 13th Men B of 35

Rikus Van Zyl 4th Men’s D

Erik Seibt 6th Men’s D

Evan Kuhl 10th Men’s D

Jacob Holtgrewe 12th Men’s D

Josh Goodman 17th Men’s D

Evan Cruson and Jordan Morris DNF Men’s D of 50

Written by Abner Miralda

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.